New here and a few questions

A place to discuss grafting, orcharding, and related topics.
MartinD

New here and a few questions

Postby MartinD » Wed Feb 14, 2018 7:21 pm

Hi all! Firstly I want to say I've been searching for a site like this for months and I'm so glad I found it. Its almost as if it was a closely guarded secret lol

I'm new to fruit trees but I would love to start a small personal fruit orchard on my new property. I live in New Brunswick,Canada, right on the line between zones 4 and 5. So far, I've got a few wild apple and crab trees to graft onto, and I've planted a montmorency cherry and a Moore's arctic plum. I've got some pear seedlings to graft onto as well, and I ordered pear and apple scion from the nursery that sold me the cherry and plum. I'd be glad to list the varieties I have and share with others on the site when/if the grafts take and I have enough material.

I recently ordered seeds for p. Avium and p. Cerasifera to try and grow some rootstock. Does anyone have any experience germinating these seeds? I understand they need cold stratification, so should I keep them in the fridge? Outside? Is it ok if they freeze?

I guess I'll end this post here, but I have sooooo many questions, and zero local people I can ask for help.
Last edited by MartinD on Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

IL Paradise Farm

Re: New here and a few questions

Postby IL Paradise Farm » Sat Feb 17, 2018 8:43 pm